Check out these new ads for one Mrs. Mary Steadman make money working at home “blog” at www.marylifeblog.com. The names keep changing on these work at home part time job sites, but the bad deals keep coming. It’s almost like as soon as I post about one site offering this work at home on the internet for $1 deals, another pops up in it’s place. Literally in the middle of writing this article the ad I found changed from linking to Mary’s Money Blog to Kevin Gets Green for Kevin Hoeffer and back again!
How do these work at home for Google blog sites work and why is this a scam in my opinion? And how can you, gentle reader, spot these types of scams for yourself?
- Check out the Comments section. There is no where to actually enter comments! They’ve all very likely been faked.
- Google does actually pay people, but only through it’s Adsense program. It’s what automatically puts context sensitive ads on websites and the most popular internet advertising program in the world. They pay out 30-60 days AFTER a link has been clicked, NOT 72 hours. And then typically they only pay out a couple of CENTS per click.
- For the Google Biz Kit and Internet Biz Kit, you only need to spend $1 and $1.95 for shipping, which should raise some flags. Shipping charge for an electronic delivery? What? What the blog fails to tell you is that likely before you figure it out, your “7 day trial” will be up and they’ll whack your credit card for $150 combined.
Check out the very very fine print at the bottom of the Google Start-up Kit page that Mary’s “blog” links to:
By submitting this form I authorize Fresh Keyword Ideas to immediately charge my credit card for instant access to the Instant Google kit. I hereby request that Fresh Keyword Ideas activate my account and authorize them to advance funds as indicated. Monthly Service fees will commence seven days from the date of this purchase, and will be billed monthly thereafter. After the seven day trial you will be billed seventy one dollars and twenty one cents USD monthly for the continued access to the software. No refunds will be given for failure to use the requested and provided services. You may cancel at anytime by writing to 51 W. Center St. #621, Orem UT, 84057 or calling 877-208-6571.
And hidden at the very very bottom of the www.my-internet-payday.com page:
* When you order the Risk Free Trial of My Internet Payday Program you will be charged only $1.00 (non-refundable) for access to the My Internet Payday training program. You will have a full 7 day risk free trial period from your original purchase date to decide if the My Internet Payday program is right for you. At the end of your 7 day trial period you will be charged $78.64 per month for access to the My Internet Payday training program.
Note, that is MY red highlighting above, certainly not the sites that you are giving your credit card to.
What do you likely get for your $150 combined? A bunch of tired old eBooks on how you could have made money 5 years ago using Google Adsense and Adwords? A pyramid scheme to sell other people the Google Biz Kits? Probably. I haven’t bought one so I don’t know. One thing is for sure, no worthwhile make money program would EVER need to trick people into paying $150 for it like this. That’s why it’s a scam in my opinion.
For more details on how the whole thing works, see our origimal article on Google Money Tree, Earn Google Cash, and Google Kits – Facebook Part Time Job Scams
In this case, here is the trail it seems to take you down:
www.marylifeblog.com takes you to Mary’s Money Blog, which has a link to a My Internet Payday Internet Biz Kit. When you click it you go to www.my-internet-payday.com.
What Should I Do If I Get Taken?
- Don’t feel bad! Seems like hundreds if not thousands of people have been taken in by these sort of “negative option” offers that trick you by not clearly disclosing you are signing up for monthly charges. You were tricked, it happens to the best of us.
- Call the number provided on the website that took you in IMMEDIATELY. Have more than one witness listen when you call and/or record the conversation if possible. Unfortunately many people have complained that they can never get anyone to talk to when they call. Finding that number is up to you, they seem to keep changing.
- Call/write your credit card company and dispute the charges. They never clearly disclosed the charges you were signing up for, so you have a case here.
- Monitor your credit accounts! You just gave some shady characters your name, address, phone number, credit card and secret 3 digit card number. Click here to sign up for Experian ID Protection monitoring. Unlike the Google Biz Kits, Experian clearly states that it’s actually free for a full 30 days, then only $9.95 a month to monitor your credit accounts for fraud and identity theft. I’d suggest signing up for AT LEAST the free month to make sure no one tries to change your address or open a new card using the current cards details you gave away.
I Didn’t Get Taken, But What Can I Do To Help?
- Click Here to Share this on Facebook! Hit “Post to Profile” to warn your friends.
- Use the “Share This” links below to Digg or Twitter or Stumble or Reddit or Email or whatever service you use to share this so that other people might see it before they get scammed too!
- Email this link to your friends.
Do Something
{ 14 comments… read them below or add one }
MARYLIFEBLOG.COM is the same as JOSHMADECASH.COM and KENNYSMONEYBLOG.COM. The only difference between these 3 websites other than colors of the websites are the pictures of Mary, Josh, and Kenny. Josh and Kenny are the same person.
All 3 sites have the same exact comments from made up people and all are posted at the same exact order word to word and even have the same response from Mary, Josh, and Kenny. Notice that all comments do not include a timestamp so you have no idea when they were posted. What kind of website doesn’t include this simple feature? They could’ve at least changed the wordings on those 3 sites. These scumbags didn’t even try to be creative with their scam and it’s sad to know that there are people gullible enough to fall for it.
Well, the all comments are required to get approval feature on this site reminded of one thing that I forgot to mention about Josh and Kenny’s sites. The comments section on their sites both have the same line that reads, “Comments disabled due to spam.” Can they be anymore obvious?
Ben, I think the people they are targeting are NOT internet savvy. My 75 year old grandmother certainly would not know the ins and outs of a typical blog layout, or that she might get scammed by paying $1 or $2 for a book online unless I warn her. The ads for these sites are pretty spread out across many ad networks, so most people will only see one of them. The really sad part is that the FTC, ICCC and major ad networks don’t step in and stop this sort of thing.
Did you ever go through the course on the provided CD and try to use the system? I did and it’s worked out pretty well though.
I removed your affiliate site link Mr. “Google Biz Kit”, if that’s your real name. No, I have not gone through the course on the CD as it really doesn’t matter. It could be the best damn program ever, but the fact that they are tricking people into paying $75+ for it makes it a totally and complete scam in my opinion, and likely that of the FTC as well.
Take a close look at the site you link to Mr. GBK, note the lack of true cost disclosure on any page. Then read over:
http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/business/ecommerce/bus41.pdf
AND
http://www.ftc.gov/os/2009/02/P064202negativeoptionreport.pdf
Note that as an affiliate of said site also breaking the rules, you are also liable to get a visit from the FTC as they investigate these people, and not necessarily a friendly visit either.
thanx guys i almost fell for it!
is there any thing out there that does work!!
thanx , i almost fell for it!
THANKS, THIS IS NEARLY AS BAD AS HERBALIFE!
NOT TO MENTION THOSE TYPING SCAMS.
WHERE WILL I FIND SOMETHING THAT WORKS?
thanks guys for that info…
I did get taken with this scam. I went back to http://www.marylifeblog.com and checked out the site again.
When I ordered not but 30 minutes ago, there where 2
links to sign up, step 1 & 2. Now when I went back they
only have one link to http://www.myinternetpayday.com. The site where I went to pay for the Google Biz Kit is gone. I am going to contact my credit card company and have the charges stopped and then contact them and be sure they do not charge me any further. Any further advice on what to do?
Thank you for your info here…..
pls i need a straight and forward website were i can get the forms to fill for my Biz Kit
Tbh, its pretty obvious cos the site uses obstrusive javascript to try and stop you leaving. Only malicious sites do that…not to mention they could add a back port to your computer in the code if your using windows and internet explorer (or at least could I think microsoft patched it, but not sure)
also one more comment at Shahna, I would recommend destroying your credit card and closing the account, stopping one payment won’t be good enough, trust me I know how it’s done (from studying these ppl on my degree).
You might wake up with a huge bill one morning, when a card’s been compromised it’s best to close it and cut it up.